Arkansas Razorbacks: Tyler Wilson Named First Team All-SEC

Tyler Wilson has done something no other Arkansas Razorback has ever accomplished: He's been named first team All-SEC at the quarterback position.

Wilson, along with six other Razorback players, was named to All-SEC team Monday. Wide receivers Jarius Wright and Joe Adams were selected first team All-SEC as well. Adams' selection was as an all-purpose player for his contributions as a punt returner and wide receiver.

Arkansas' second-team picks included linebacker Jerry Franklin, punter Dylan Breeding, guard Alvin Bailey and running back Dennis Johnson; Johnson was an all-purpose selection for his kickoff-return abilities and play at running back.

Senior safety Tramain Thomas received an honorable mention. Thomas had five interceptions during the 2011 season, tying him for No. 10 in FBS and No. 4 in the SEC.

Missing from the All-SEC lists is senior defensive end Jake Bequette. Bequette missed significant game time and three total games with an early-season hamstring injury but still managed to finish the season with eight sacks. Bequette’s eight sacks ranked No. 8 in the SEC.

Jarvis Jones led the SEC in sacks with 13.5, finishing second in college football during the regular season to Whitney Mercilus, a defensive end for Illinois.

The following is a list of the All-SEC honorees, their position, their school and their class:


First Team Offense

QB – Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, Jr.

RB – Trent Richardson, Alabama, Jr.

RB – Michael Dyer, Auburn, So.

WR – Jarius Wright, Arkansas, Sr.

WR – Da’Rick Rogers, Tennessee, So.

OL – Barret Jones, Alabama, Jr.

OL – Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina, Sr.

OL – Cordy Glenn, Georgia, Sr.

OL – Will Balckwell, LSU, Sr.

C – William Vlachos, Alabama, Sr.

TE – Orson Charles, Georgia, Jr.


Special Teams

K – Caleb Sturgis, Florida, Jr.

AP – Joe Adams, Arkansas, Sr.


First Team Defense

DT – Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State, Jr.

DT – Malik Jackson, Tennessee, Sr.

DE – Melvin Ingram, South Carolina, Sr.

DE – Sam Montgomery, LSU, So.

LB – Danny Trevathan, Kentucky, Sr.

LB – Courtney Upshaw, Alabama, Sr.

LB – Jarvis Jones, Georgia, So.

CB – Morris Claiborne, LSU, Jr.

CB – Tyrann Mathieu, LSU, So.

S – Mark Barron, Alabama, Sr.

S – Bacarri Rambo, Georgia, Jr.


Special Teams

P – Brad Wing, LSU, Fr.


Second Team Offense

QB – Aaron Murray, Georgia, So.

RB – Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt, Jr.

RB – Vick Ballard, Mississippi State, Sr.

WR – Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina, Jr.

WR – Rueben Randle, LSU, Jr.

OL – Alvin Bailey, Arkansas, So.

OL – Chris Faulk, LSU, So.

OL – Larry Warford, Kentucky, Jr.

OL – Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State, So.

C – Ben Jones, Georgia, Sr.

TE – Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn, Jr.


Special Teams

K – Drew Alleman, LSU, Jr.

AP – Dennis Johnson, Arkansas, Jr.


Second Team Defense

DT – Michael Brockers, LSU, So.

DT – Josh Chapman, Alabama, Sr.

DE – Cory Lemonier, Auburn, So.

DE – Barkevious Mingo, LSU, So.

LB – Chris Marve, Vanderbilt, Sr.

LB – Jerry Franklin, Arkansas, Sr.

LB – Don’t’A Hightower, Alabama, Jr.

CB – Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama, Jr.

CB – Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt, Sr.

S – Antonio Allen, South Carolina, Sr.

S – Eric Reid, LSU, So.


Special Teams

P – Dylan Breeding, Arkansas, Jr.


Offensive Player of the Year

Trent Richardson, Alabama


Defensive Player of the Year

Tyrann Mathieu, LSU


Coach of the Year

Les Miles, LSU


Freshman of the Year

Isaiah Crowell, Georgia

TAGS: Arkansas Razorbacks Football, , , , , Tyler Wilson